• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

A Dream Come True

# 8 – Drive a BMW sport convertible

Thumbs up!

On my birthday, my partner surprised me by helping me check two items off my wish list. One thing I’ve always wanted to do is drive a BMW sport convertible. Why? There’s something about the sleek lines of the Z3 and Z4 that thrills me to the core. I see one on the road (and they’re always around me – in front of me, behind me, beside me, tantalizing me with their quiet purr and please-touch-me contours), and I’m mesmerized. I fantasize about driving one – convertible top down, my hair blowing in the wind, sunglasses on, big smile on my face as I ease into traffic and zoom off into the sunset …

I know that, in reality, my hair would probably be in my face, blinding me, or twisting itself into dreadlocks, my ears would probably freeze with the wind blowing by, and I’d be terrified of bumping into something and damaging the car’s perfect exterior.

But that’s the wonderful thing about fantasies, isn’t it? Everything is always perfect.

So, on my birthday, my partner told me that he would be picking me up at noon. “But have lunch,” he said,” because lunch is not part of our agenda.”

Hmmm, intriguing.

He picked me up and off we went. He has a habit of taking all kinds of back roads no matter where we’re going, just to confuse me. I had no idea what we were up to. Finally he turned into a car dealership. I held my breath. Could it be??? I didn’t dare voice my secret wish, but my heart had started to flutter.

We came around a corner and … there it was! A beautiful white BMW Z4, just sitting there, beckoning to me.

Okay, I’ll be honest here. I squealed. Several times. Out loud.

I also bounced. Up and down. Clapping my hands. Looking more like a 5-year old who’s just been given the bestest Christmas gift ever than a mature responsible 55-year old. Ah well, maturity and responsibility are highly overrated, aren’t they?

My partner grinned.

We took it out for a test drive. He drove first to get us out of the busy traffic, and then it was my turn.

OMG! There I was, cruising down a country road, the convertible top down (at the touch of a button!), my hair blowing in the wind, dark sunglasses on, huge smile on my face. I noticed that the driver’s seat was growing cosy and warm – my partner had turned on the seat heating option (does it get any better?). The car handled like a dream (please pinch me).

Reluctantly, we returned the car to the dealership.

Was it everything I’d imagined? Oh yes, and more. While I do prefer the Z3 (love the lines!) in a baby blue (you know, if I were really being asked), a white Z4 would do… 😉

"My" BMW!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. the best part is imagining you squealing out loud. 🙂 thanks so much for sharing your joy!

    Reply
  1. Goldilocks and The Three … Cars! « I'm Young, I'm Fabulous and … I'm Fifty-Five!

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

