• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

A Fresh Look at Fifty-Five

#2 – Have a makeover done

Ever since I was a teenager, I’ve wanted to have a makeover done. You know, like you see on television or in the glossy magazines. There’s always a “before” picture with a drab hairdo and equally bland wardrobe. And then, magically, the butterfly emerges from the cocoon and in the “after” photo, there’s an amazing haircut and style, stunning makeup and a gorgeous new outfit.

Off and on over the years, I did enter contests for makeovers. I remember one for for a mother-daughter event (that would have been so much fun!) and another was for two best friends. I didn’t win either one, so I compensated by taking my daughter to a spa for a few times on her birthday and gifting her (and me) with side-by-side manicures and pedicures.

In October, I emailed my best friend and told her, “I really, really want to have a makeover done this year for my birthday. Want to join me?”

I found Image Makeover Toronto, the salon that often does makeovers on City TV, and booked our appointments. I specifically asked for a hair stylist who was good at working with curly hair (my mop defies most attempts to tame it).

When the day arrived, I was so excited. I had no idea what to expect. We took pictures of each other before we left the hotel.

Needs work, right?

My hair stylist was Natalie, a lovely young woman with … straight … red hair. I took a deep breath. Straight hair? What would she know about dealing with curls? Very quickly she set my mind at ease. Turns out she also has curly hair, but had straightened it that day. Whew!

I took off my glasses and placed myself in her hands. I guess I should mention that without my glasses, I can’t even see the mirror so I had no idea what was happening.

First, highlights. Then the cut.

My girlfriend who had been downstairs having a pedicure arrived at this point.

“Look at all the hair on the floor!” she exclaimed. “What are you having done?”

I just smiled, confident that, in the end, all would be well.

While my hair was being finished, Leah began my makeup. It was a weird sensation, having her apply eyeliner, mascara and lip gloss to my face while I just sat there. I guess I’m not used to being pampered.

Finally it was time to see the finished look…

Whatcha’ think???

Makeup by Leah

Hair by Natalie

For the whole day, I walked around Toronto as if in a dream. I felt (and looked) gorgeous.

Now I’m back home again, and my hair has returned to its natural state, albeit with much less white and a lot more glorious colour. I feel a bit like Cinderella after the ball.

But it was fabulous and fun in the moment!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hi, Julie ~ Fantastic! I was planning to leave a comment on your previous blog post. I noticed the fabulous curls in THAT photo. What fun. And you ARE gorgeous – makeover or no 🙂

    Reply
    • Ah, thanks, Tiffany! We are all beautiful, aren’t we? That little extra bit of pampering, of someone else doing your hair and makeup, really is a nice boost though!

      Reply
  2. Gorgeous, Julie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

