• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Self Pleasuring

When you read the title of today’s post, what came to mind? If you’re expecting an exciting post filled with erotica, you’ll be disappointed. I’m writing about small pleasures that we so seldom give to ourselves, yet we secretly yearn for.

As a daughter, sister, mother and partner, I’ve spent most of my life meeting the needs of those around me. If I had a list of priorities, my name was always near the bottom.

No more! With age comes wisdom and … freedom. Delicious, luscious, scrumptious freedom to give myself permission to do what I want, when I want, how I want, as often as I want.

The challenge is figuring out what it is I want!

That’s why I created The Fun List. It’s a good reminder of things I’d like to try. Having a list is helpful because I find that ideas come to me, thrill me, and then instantly vanish into the ethers if I don’t write them down. Sound familiar?

In addition to activities on that list, there are lots of little treats I give myself every day now. Just because. You see, I no longer need to justify my pleasures. I’ve come to a point where I realize that life is meant to be enjoyed. Today. In this moment. So, as I reach for another nibble of dark chocolate, here’s some of the ways I find pleasure:

  • a warm bath in epsom salts, preferably in the dark (in the afternoon if possible), for as long as I want
  • chocolate, chocolate, chocolate – I keep a secret stash of dark chocolate bars in my kitchen cupboard
  • a mug of hot water (with lime) at breakfast (sounds boring, but I love it!)
  • a walk in the woods, or at least near trees or water, before breakfast if possible
  • reading a good book at lunch time
  • stretching out for nap in the middle of the afternoon
  • taking a whole day off in the middle of the week for “me” time
  • a massage or back rub or reflexology or … the very best … a head massage (ahhhh!!!)

What’s your pleasure? Are you getting … enough? 😉

Pure pleasure!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

