• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Bestest Birthdays

I’ve been around for over half a century now, so I’ve had a few birthdays along the way. Most have been memorable (I make a point of celebrating, and celebrating well!) Some have definitely topped the list.

About eight years ago, my son was working in Montreal. It was my birthday and he called me that morning to wish me a wonderful day. It was great to hear his voice and we chatted for a while. Later on that morning, my daughter came over and we headed downstairs to go through some boxes. I had sold my house and would be moving soon, so we were trying to get rid of some things in anticipation.

Around 4 pm, the doorbell rang. I wasn’t expecting anyone, so when I got to the door I peeked out the window but there was no one there. Perplexed, I opened the door.

Crouching down, out of sight, was my son. He looked up at me with a big grin on his face and said, “Happy birthday, Mom!”

He had driven all the way from Montreal (about an 8-hour drive) immediately after phoning me that morning. He stayed for a few hours and then headed back to Montreal because he had to be at work the next morning. All that driving, just to be there to surprise me on my birthday!

That was definitely one of my bestest birthdays ever!

Me and my "little" boy!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

