• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Birthday Surprises

You know those surprise birthday bashes where the unsuspecting person walks into a room full of people shouting, “Surprise!” (and then they’re surprised when that person bursts into tears out of shock). I don’t ever want to experience that (please take note, friends and family!!!)

However, I have had some delightful birthday surprises over the years instead.

Two years ago, my daughter was living in the UK. She and her boyfriend planned to come through Canada on their way to Australia in late November. I was really looking forward to seeing her (she’d been away for about 18 months at that point). We talked a few weeks before her arrival and she told me they’d be arriving on November 9, a week after my birthday.

“Oh, so close to my birthday!” I sighed.

“I know, Mom, I tried to get a flight earlier so I could be there for the Big Day but it just didn’t work out.”

“That’s okay, hon,” I said, “I don’t mind stretching out the celebration. You know me!”

On my birthday, my partner took me out to a nice restaurant. We settled in at a corner table and ordered wine. It was a lovely spot, candlelit, with soft music playing in the background. The wine came and we raised our glasses.

“Happy birthday,” he said with a smile.

Just then I saw a movement out of the corner of my eye.

I turned my head and saw … my daughter and her boyfriend walking toward our table.

For the first time in my life, I was actually speechless. I sat there, unable to move, breathe or think. Finally I just opened my arms and wrapped her in a big hug. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry.

That’s when I found out that she had actually arrived two days earlier, and that she and my partner had been emailing back and forth for months to work out the details.

Yet another bestest birthday moment!

Celebrating #53 with my sweet girl

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. So, I am seeing a trend that you have the most awesome birthday surprises πŸ™‚ What fun!

    Reply
  2. Isn’t it fabulous what can happen when you’re open to possibilities??? Of course, I love surprising other people with delight as well so perhaps what goes around comes around …. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

