• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Snoozin’ …

#30 – Take a nap (whenever I feel like it)

Mmmm, I do enjoy the pleasure of a good nap! When I was little, I loved to curl up under the covers and daydream away. As  a young mother, I was often desperately in need of a nap especially when I’d been up all night with sleepless children. Those same children always seemed to have boundless energy during the day while I faded like a flower in the desert sun.

Now that I’m a fun-loving senior, naps are no longer a luxury. They’ve become an essential part of my routine. Not every day, mind you, but I have no hesitation around stretching out in the middle of the afternoon as needed. In fact, I firmly believe that naps are an important part of a healthy lifestyle (just like nutrition and exercise). I’ve learned from experience that trying to push myself when I’m tired is pointless. I make mistakes and get grumpy. Where’s the fun in that (for me or for those around me)?

Of course, I’m blessed to work primarily from home so that means the couch or the bed is always within easy reach (kinda’ like the chocolate in the cupboard!) Wouldn’t it be wonderful if all companies had a “snooze room”, where staff could go and stretch out for a 20-minute rest after lunch? And then head out for a 20-minute walk to clear the mind and prepare for the rest of the day?

Works for me! How about you? When was the last time you enjoyed a delicious nap?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

