• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Bathing Bliss

#29 – Have a bath in the middle of the afternoon

This afternoon as I perused my Fun List, I couldn’t decide which item to enjoy next. I’ve been rather busy lately for a number of reasons and, as a result, have been feeling kinda’ worn out. I’m sure you know the feeling – the “on” button in your mind seems to be permanently stuck so your brain buzzes round and round like a swarm of bees, you can’t seem to make decisions or remember where you put your keys, and you can’t think of anything for supper so you resort to cereal … night after night. Yikes!

My eyes wandered wearily down the list. And then I saw it – #29! The perfect antidote for everything I was feeling.

I’ve discovered over the years that there are Shower People, and there are Bath People (and a few of us who straddle both worlds). Shower People wouldn’t take a bath unless there were absolutely no other options for getting clean. Soak in a tub? Never! It’s all about washing, efficiently and effectively. Their morning or evening showers are an important part of their daily routine.

Bath People tend to linger in the water. Sure, the bath may start with washing their bodies, but it’s also about stretching out and relaxing tired muscles. That’s hard to do while standing up in a shower.

Me, I’m a bit of both. A shower is great for washing hair and body, but there’s nothing like a long soak in a hot tub filled with epsom salts (and occasionally some bubble bath) to soothe away my worries and cares.

So, around 2 p.m., I turned on the taps (and turned off the computer) and indulged in a splendid mid-day soak. It felt like such a luxury to be pampering myself this way when the rest of the world was hard at work. As I closed my eyes, I became aware of the velvety softness of the water against my skin, the warmth that caressed my body, and the gentle silence of the dark room. My mind slowed, my body sighed in relief, and I drifted into another time and place.

And now, I think it’s time for another of my treats … a nap. Yawn, stretch …

*****

Wishing you a fun-filled holiday season! Come back for more Fab Fifty-Five Fun in 2012!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Arlene :)

     /  December 21, 2011

    How decadent, Julie.

    Enjoy endless blessings this holiday season!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

