• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Old Haunts and New Challenges

One of the items on my Fun List is to go to Costa Rica to see a friend who’s cycling from the Yukon to the tip of South America. I’ve written about him in my Dream BIGGER blog and regularly provide updates on his journey. He plans to be in Costa Rica by March and will stay there for about a month.

I’m delighted to share the news that I’ve taken the first step toward crossing that item off my list. My partner and I have booked the flight! Yippee!

The last time I was in Costa Rica was about ten years ago. I went to visit a girlfriend who was renting a small beach house there (and has since built a house of her own in the same community). As I begin to imagine this trip, I’m taking note of all the ways in which it will be different this time.

First of all, I’m not travelling alone. Last time, I had a week of exploring on my own because my girlfriend was away. It was the first trip I’d taken in many years, and it took me a while to adjust to being alone in a new country. I discovered that I’d enjoyed getting up at dawn (awakened by the monkeys howling in the trees around my room), wandering along an empty beach at low tide, watching the world awaken. I fell in love with fresh mango juice, was mesmerized by the sparkling water and glistening sand, and stunned by the vivid colours of bougainvillea and poinsettia bushes and hedges growing wild.

I’m eager to share my favourite spots with my partner and have some new adventures together. Ten years ago, I took the bold and courageous step of ziplining. Given my fear of heights, it required tremendous willpower to say yes to the opportunity (and my knees almost gave out several times). This time, who knows where my newfound Fab Fifty-Five attitude will take me? Cave spelunking? Horseback riding? Jungle trekking? Swimming with the dolphins?

Bring it on!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

