• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Old Dog, New Tricks

This week, if the weather cooperates, I’ll be learning a new skill and, hopefully, expanding my enjoyment of winter. I was supposed to start skate skiing lessons last week, but there was no snow – a key component for skiing!

When I was a kid, my parents introduced my brothers and me to cross-country skiing. It was something we could all do, regardless of age or fitness level, and it was relatively inexpensive because we skied in area parks and golf courses. I continued to ski when my children were little, so I guess I’ve been a cross-country skier most of my life.

Classic skiing, that is.

What I didn’t know until a few years ago is that there are two styles of cross-country skiing. Classic is the one that most people recognize. Then there’s skate-skiing which looks, like the name suggests, like skating on skis. And each type requires a different kind of boot and ski. Who knew?

Last year, I got the equipment I needed for skate-skiing and tried it out a few times. Given my background as a figure skater, the skating movement came fairly easily to me. But I soon discovered I had no stamina. Or balance. I could do it for a short distance and then would suddenly wobble back and forth and land flat on my back(side) in the snow. And I was huffing and puffing like the little engine that could(‘nt).

So, when my partner mentioned the idea of taking skate-skiing lessons this winter, I jumped at the chance. The fact that he’s one of the instructors doesn’t hurt (he’s a very patient teacher). I have visions of learning to fly across the snow with the greatest of ease …

Now all we need is snow!

Yours truly in "classic" form in 2010

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

