• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

The Happy Hooker

#37 – Take up a hobby or a craft

When I was in my teens and twenties, I always had a craft on the go. If I sat down to watch television, my hands were busy – crocheting, sewing, some form of fancy stitching. I’m not sure when that changed, but I know it’s been years since I’ve done anything creative with my hands. And that’s why I added this item to my Fun List.

So, when I found out that my daughter and her Australian boyfriend would be coming home for a visit, I decided to crochet him a scarf. Sure, they have winter in Australia, but it’s nothing like winter in Canada, and I knew he’d really feel the cold. It felt good to get back into crocheting again (it’s kind of like riding a bike – you never really forget how to do it). As I worked away one evening, my partner turned to me and commented, “When do I get a scarf?”

I was hooked (pun intended!) The first scarf led to a second, and then I made one for my daughter too. I was on a roll.

While my daughter was here, she wanted to get back into crocheting too. So one afternoon we walked over to a local craft store and browsed. Several hours later, we emerged, bearing lots of yarn and a large pattern book. She’d found a sweater that she wanted to make. Once we got back home, she looked at the enormous bag of yarn and realized that there was far too much to pack for her return trip.

There was only one solution. We had to make as much of the sweater as possible over the next 24 hours.

On Saturday afternoon, armed with three movies, we sat down on the couch and started a crochet marathon. Our bemused partners sat with us through the movies, sipping on beer and plying us with munchies to keep our energy up.

We ran into problems within the first three rows. I was working on the back section of the sweater. She was working on the left front. When we measured and compared our rows, we realized that her stitches were far tighter and closer together than mine. If that continued, she’d have a major challenge when she tried to put all the sections together.

We ripped it out and started again … three more times!!

Love and laughter ... and a bit of wine!

Hours (and several glasses of wine) later, we called it a night. I promised to have my section finished before her flight to Australia.

I’m happy to report that I did it. She flies back tonight, and will complete the rest of the sweater on her own there. We’ll have to resolve any technical problems via skype, I guess.

Now I’m searching for a new crochet project. Does anyone need a scarf???

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Yay Julie! I’m trying to figure out how I can have a project drawer beside the phone, so I can put the headset on and knit or get the mending done. What a lovely way to send a memory home with your daughter!

    Reply
  2. Lynn Mueller

     /  February 29, 2012

    Boy, Laura sure looks like you now!! I mentioned that as I looked at the picture and Chris said “Laura who?” and Nate said, “Laura, your wife!” Ahh memories!!! They were once sooooo cute!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

