• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Riding High in the Saddle

I’ve always loved animals – big, little, wild, tame. Problem is, I’m allergic to them. Everything that has fur, hair or feathers (which rules out everything but fish, turtles and reptiles). So, as a kid, I fantasized about riding horses, bareback of course. Meanwhile, I had goldfish that leaped out of the aquarium and died. And turtles that suddenly stopped moving.

The fantasy of being able to pet cats, cuddle dogs and gallop off into the sunset astride a golden steed has remained strong through the years. So, when I had the opportunity to go horseback riding in Costa Rica, I didn’t hesitate. In keeping with my Fab Fifty-Five approach to life (see the left sidebar), I said “Yes!!!”

We were staying at the Hacienda Guachipelin near the Rincon de la Vieja volcano. It’s a working ranch so they have horses. Lots of horses. We booked a one-hour ride to the Chorreras waterfall and back. I hadn’t packed any long pants, so I figured one hour of my legs rubbing against a leather saddle and the sides of the horse would be all I could manage.

Easy does it!

It’s funny how riders on television make it look so easy. My horse alternated between not wanting to move and suddenly taking off at a fast canter. I tried to remember the bits and pieces of information my daughter had told me from her riding lessons many years ago. To no avail. I was bouncing all over the place like a ball in a pinball machine.

Still, I was on a horse. In Costa Rica. How cool was that?

Actually, it was wicked hot. The temperature, I mean. Even in the shade, it felt like my skin was melting.

After a steep and rocky ride down a well-worn and dusty path, we arrived at the waterfall and dismounted.

Where the Chorreras falls meet with the Rio Blanco (White River), there’s a lovely turquoise pool. We had time for a refreshing (that’s a code word for chilly) swim before getting back in the saddle and beginning the uphill climb to the ranch.

Quick, take the photo! The water's freezing!

For two days, I walked like I still had a horse between my legs. But it was worth it!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

