• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

If Not Now, Then When?

#39 – Jump off a boat and swim in the ocean

Okay, I’m going to say it right up front. I don’t have any photos to prove this one. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

It was one of those spontaneous moments where you just do it and think later – oh, I should have had someone take a photo! But, by then, it’s over.

Anyway, it all started with a sunset sail in the bay at Playa Hermosa. The hotel we were staying at has a lovely 38′ Beneteau sailboat. Groups of four or more can book it for a three-hour cruise that culminates in watching the spectacular sunset while sipping wine or beer. One day, a family of four was taking the boat out and we tagged along.

The strong winds we’d been getting for several days seemed to vanish the moment the sails were hoisted, so we ended up motoring most of the way. We headed out to Cabeza de Mono (Monkey’s Head Rock) for a close-up look.

Can you see the monkey's head?

Then we gradually made our way into a protected bay. It was a very warm evening, so our “capitรกn” suggested that we jump off the boat and have a swim while we waited for the sun to slip a little lower in the sky. Our newfound friends didn’t hesitate. Into the ocean they leaped and swam away. My partner sat there looking at me quizzically.

“Are you going swimming?”

Good question. You see, I have this thing about not being able to swim where I can’t see (and touch) the bottom. I know, it’s silly. But I’m much happier swimming in a bright blue swimming pool (devoid of algae, fish, slimy rocks and weird squishy things underfoot) than in a large body of water. Give me chlorine and a clear view of the bottom any day.

As I continued my inner debate, my partner went below deck to change.

I looked over at the others, cavorting in the water and thought, “This is on my Fun List. When am I going to get this chance again?”

I stood up. I took off my glasses. I crept to the edge of the boat and looked over. It was a l-o-n-g way down to the water. How had the others gone in? I tried crouching down so I could spring off the side and decided against it. I might lose my balance and go head first, or hit my backside off the side of the boat.

I stood up again. There was nothing to hold onto. Then I realized that the others were getting further and further away. If I didn’t jump soon, I wouldn’t be able to find them (I’m very shortsighted).

I jumped. Straight down. Feet first. Under the water.

I came up spluttering, scrambling to keep my head above water while I wiped my eyes and pushed my hair out of my face. Ugh! I’d forgotten it was salt water!

That’s when my partner returned to the upper deck. Hence, no photo. But it was pretty exhilarating, I must say.

And afterward, we were treated to a glorious sunset!

I can still feel the gentle lapping of the waves under the boat

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Leslie Smith

     /  April 13, 2012

    Carpe diem! What a lovely opportunity on a beautiful evening Julie – so glad you decided to go for it. Your blogs paint an irresistible picture of your trip to Costa Rica and I look forward to reading them. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • It truly was a “carpe diem” moment! I’m really glad I did it too, although it took all the courage I had to make the leap ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s amazing what you’re capable of once you close your eyes, take a deep breath and then … just do it!

      Reply
  2. That is so cool! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Thanks! I was pretty proud of myself (altho terrified in the moment!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

