• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Six Month Anniversary

It’s been a little over six months since I started this blog. The whole idea was to have some fun around turning 55 and perhaps inspire others to enjoy their age too (young and old alike). Since it’s halfway through my birthday year, I thought it would be a good time to do a check-in with myself and see how it’s going.

Goals

  • write a blog twice a week for the year
  • create a list of 55 fun things and do them
  • try some things I’ve always wanted to do
  • inspire/amuse a few readers
  • savour being 55 (it only happens once in a lifetime!)

Outcome to date

  • 42 posts written so far (yep, there were a few weeks where I only posted once)
  • 46 items so far on my Fun List (still room for new ideas)
  • 20 items crossed off the list (hurrah!)
  • I’m learning Mandarin, I drove a BMW sport convertible, went rock climbing (indoors and out), jumped off a boat and swam in the Pacific Ocean, and walked behind a waterfall in Costa Rica (among other adventures)
  • there have been over 1200 views to date and 71 comments on my posts with lots and lots of “Likes” from people all over the world (that’s the cool thing about a WordPress blog – I get to see a map of where the views come from)
  • writing this blog, and doing all the activities, has made this a very special year indeed

And if that weren’t enough to encourage me to keep going for the next six months, all I have to do is look at my “Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five” in the top left corner of the page and realize that I’m doing it all!

So, regardless of your age, I challenge you to live as I have been this year …

  1. Dare to try new things
  2. Say yes to opportunities
  3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries
  4. Ask yourself, “If not now, when?”
  5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

Now onto the next item on my Fun List 🙂

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Inspiring! To be able to do half of what you’ve done so far would be a great achievement for me. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Jo-Anne

     /  May 18, 2012

    Hi Julie,
    I’m keen to see your Fun List. Is it posted here somewhere? PS: Thanks for supporting my dream!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

