• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Indulge Me Please!

#24 – Try one new recipe each month

Okay, this item on my Fun List may not be as exciting as taking a hot air balloon ride or going rock climbing. But I’m sure that many of my readers of “a certain age” will understand why it’s included. After forty years or so of having to think up meals, buy food, prepare the stuff and then clean up afterward, my zest for cooking has somewhat waned. No, let’s be honest. It’s vanished.

I wanted to make cooking fun again. I thought that if I searched for some new recipes perhaps it would rekindle my interest.

So off I went to my local bookstore where I wandered through the cookbook section. I’d forgotten how much I l-o-v-e cookbooks. Especially the ones with pictures! I came home with two large books filled with mouthwatering recipes.

The Looneyspoons Collection, created by sisters Janet and Greta Podleski is the latest in their hilarious (and very successful) cookbook series. It’s filled with drool-worthy photos as well as amusing cartoons plus nutritional tips on every page. And their tongue-in-cheek recipe titles keep me chuckling all the way to the kitchen – “Scentilentil Journey”, “Quiche Me, You Fool!”, “Stew Good to Be True”, “Glazed and Confused Carrots” …

My favourite so far is “Hot Fudge Monday”, a yummy chocolate cake in a hot chocolate sauce (okay, I admit it, I’m a chocolate addict!) The interesting twist with this recipe is that it involves spreading the batter into the baking pan and then … pouring hot water over it! Not stirring? The recipe does say, “At this point you may think we’re nuts, but stick with us.” I did, and the results were divine.

My other prize possession at the moment is Quinoa 365 by Patricia Green and Carolyn Hemming. I love quinoa. It’s easy to cook (much like rice) and it’s considered one of the world’s healthiest foods (it has a complete combination of all life-supporting nutrients). Plus, it’s not related to wheat and doesn’t contain gluten, so for those of us with wheat and gluten challenges, it’s the perfect food!

The recipes in this book range from breakfast to snacks, main dishes to desserts. I had no idea how versatile quinoa was. It has photos that make me want to try every dish (seriously – I want to reach into the photo and take a bite). My favourite recipe so far is the Moist Chocolate Cake because it’s completely flourless (and delicious).

Hmmm, have you noticed my focus on desserts? Another Fab Fifty-Five Fundamental … eat dessert first!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jo-Anne

     /  May 18, 2012

    tastespotting.com. That’s all I have to say. Well, that, and “be prepared to become addicted”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

