• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Some Things May Be Best Left To Children

#25 – Make my own hula hoop

I have a confession to make. But first, let me tell you a story.

As a kid, I loved hula hooping (not as much as pogo sticking – that was my passion! Please tell me you remember what that was…). But I hadn’t thought about it until a couple of years ago when a friend mentioned that she makes and decorates hula hoops. I guess it’s called hooping now, but it’s the same thing as it always was – swirling a circular tube around your waist.

One day I went to visit my friend and we went to a nearby park with her children, several hoops in hand varying in size from small to large. I watched her for a while (she’s been doing this for years and loves it), and then bravely picked one up and gave it a try.

The first attempt didn’t last long, but I tried again, and soon was hooping like a master. I was hooked – again.

I asked my friend how to make one and decided to add it to my Fun List for this year.

The first step was finding the PVC tubing. I went to a local Big Box store but they would only sell me an enormous roll of the stuff. I just wanted enough for one hoop so I was thwarted. Temporarily.

A few weeks later, I was in a small town so I went to the hardware store. A young man said he’d happily cut me the length I needed.

“What kind of plumbing are you using this for?”

Hmmmm.

“Actually I’m not using it for plumbing. It’s for a … (deep breath) … hula hoop.”

To his credit, he didn’t even raise an eyebrow. He just asked how much tubing I needed, measured and cut it.

It took me a few more weeks to put it together (using a plastic joiner and some black duct tape).

Here comes the confession.

I began to hoop in my livingroom one day. It was amazing. I felt like I was 10 years old again. My hips and knees found the rhythm. The hoop circled like it belonged on my waist. I was delighted, and began to write this blog in my head.

Later that day, I was in a store looking at something on a lower shelf. As I bent forward, my back gave out. Coincidence?

My back is much improved now. I’ve been stretching a lot. I’m able to walk and bike again, but my hoop remains in a corner, gathering dust. For now.

Maybe there are a few things that are best left to 10-year olds?

I will try again. Maybe tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

