• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

I Double-Dare Me

One of the challenges I gave myself this year was to try new things. By fifty-five, I’ve already had quite a full life. It’s included lots of travelling, going to university in Switzerland, speaking five languages, teaching ice dancing, working as a newspaper editor, painting garden designs on walls in homes and businesses, being a doula (a labour coach), working as a consultant on projects across Canada and even internationally, and coaching clients on life, relationship and business dreams. Oh, and I’ve also written a book.

I’m a mother of two incredible children, now grown and thriving in their lives. I’ve flown a glider in Northern Ireland, zip-lined in Costa Rica and rock-climbed (unexpectedly) in the Niagara Gorge.

So when I wrote “Dare to try new things” at the top of my Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five list, I wasn’t sure if I could come up with anything new and exciting.

Then I got the idea for My Fun List. I was happily surprised by how many new things I dreamed up. More to come, of course, because if you check the list, you’ll see that I’m only at #49 in terms of ideas. What else to try???

What new things have you dared to try this year? I’m looking for ideas, so do share!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Where, no when on earth did you ever find or even make the time to accomplish so much? Wow, and such variation. And the funds, where did you find the funds for all of this adventure? That’s a toughie for lots of folks myself included. The distribution of leisure funds especially when you’re a parent can be challenging. Fabulous fun list by-the-way.

    Reply
  2. If you look at the list closely, you’ll notice that a lot of the items require little or no money, and not a lot of time. Here’s an idea for parents. Try sitting down as a family and coming up with a Family Fun List. It might include such things as going to the park for a picnic, playing games of your children’s choice (the sillier the better!), blowing bubbles on a sunny day (available at a dollar store), going for an Adventure Walk (wandering around the neighbourhood or in a park and exploring to see what you can find (butterflies, birds, rabbits, squirrels, flowers etc.) That’s really what my Fun List is all about – having fun!! Let me know what you come up with 🙂

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the reply. I actually meant time and pesos for (see above) lots of travelling, going to university in Switzerland, speaking five languages, teaching ice dancing, working as a newspaper editor, painting garden designs on walls in homes and businesses, being a doula, working as a consultant on projects across Canada and internationally, coaching clients on life, relationship and business dreams, write a book, fly a glider in Northern Ireland, zip-line in Costa Rica, rock-climb in the Niagara Gorge. That stuff. Almost all of the items on your list are easy-access for almost everyone and yes, loads of fun. Very fond of bubbles myself.

    Reply
    • Ah, yes! That’s just how my life has unfolded. Opportunities that I chose or that chose me. I tend to reinvent myself every few years (no chance for boredom) so that explains the diverse career path. Flying the glider was an unexpected birthdaty gift. The trip to Costa Rica came from saving 10 percent from all my cheques. If there’s something you really want to do, you’ll find a way!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

