• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

Sailing, Sailing …

#48 – Sleep overnight on our sailboat

When I added this item to my Fun List about six weeks ago, it was intended to be more challenging than it actually was. You see, at the start of the sailing season, we had a 17′ Siren sailboat. Although the Siren does have a cabin, and cushions, and it is possible to sleep on it, there isn’t a lot of room. It’s a bit like the inside of a small tent trailer with a table that flattens down and becomes part of the bed you sleep on. Fun to sail though!

The Siren

The plan was to spend one night on it just to say we’d done it. So I added it to my list.

Within a week, everything changed. My partner discovered a larger boat (23′) with a kitchen, two sleeping areas and … (my one requirement) a bathroom! When you go down the stairs into the cabin, there’s enough headroom that you can easily stand up. Lots of windows.

We ended up selling the Siren and buying a Jeanneau Tonic (I’m mentioning that for any sailing fans out there).

Last weekend, I stayed overnight on the boat for the first time. It was docked at the marina so the water was calm, just a slight rocking motion. When I first lay down, my head felt funny and I wondered if I could handle it, but the sensation soon subsided. I felt like I was being cradled to sleep, and I slept soundly.

There’s a window right above the sleeping area and, before I fell asleep, I watched the stars twinkling in the sky overhead. In the morning, I awoke to the first rays of the sun on my face. Geese and ducks swam past, calling out, “Good morning!”

Breakfast on the boat

We have a lot of work to do yet. The toilet isn’t working, nor is the propane stove hooked up in the kitchen. But the sails are up and we did get out for an inaugural sail.

Summer lies ahead, arms outstretched. There will be many more opportunities to sleep on the boat, perhaps even anchored offshore, but the first night will always hold a special place in my memory.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

