• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

The Lil’ Red Rocket

#47 – Go go-karting with my kids

I had no idea what I was getting into. My kids have loved go-karting ever since they were old enough to go. I’ve never actually been to a go-kart track, but I’ve heard the stories about my daughter the speed demon, and my son has warned me never to be on the track with her at the same time. So, ever one for a challenge, I decided to incorporate this activity into our time together this summer.

We went to Erbsville Kartway , a go-kart facility close to home. And we managed to get there for the 2 for 1 Tuesday special. That meant we could get 10 laps for the price of five, and although that had little meaning for me at the time, my oh-so-experienced kids told me that five laps go by way too fast.

So, I donned my helmet (much to the amusement of my kids – see the anticipatory gleam in their eyes?) and tried to prepare myself by watching the drivers already speeding around the track.

What am I getting myself into??

Soon it was our turn. I settled down into a red car and fastened the seatbelt.

Bring it on!

The staff started our karts and we were off. Whoa! I had no idea it would be such a rough ride! The kart wove back and forth like a drunken sailor as I bounced across the track. It took me one full lap to get used to the steering and the lack of suspension in the seat. I was trailing my partner and my kids who had taken off like they had wings.

As I started the second lap, I felt a fierce determination bubble up from deep inside. My goal was to catch my daughter and … pass her (if I could). That became my single focus. I pressed the accelerator to the floor and flew forward, ignoring the bumpy terrain. I could see her far ahead, whizzing around a corner.

Corners were tricky, I will admit. At first I had to brake and slow down every time the track curved. I soon noticed that my kids and partner tended to speed up at the corners. Hmmm, how were they doing that? I tested out some techniques and learned very quickly how to use the track to my advantage.

Lap by lap, I got faster. My daughter was within sight. I could almost taste success. I flew past her and whooped! And then raced past my son and my partner.

The track was mine!!!

It seems there’s a new speed demon in the family. 🙂 At least now I know where my daughter gets it from!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

