• Fundamentals for Fun at Fifty-Five

    1. Dare to try new things

    2. Say yes to opportunities

    3. Relax, smile, dance away your worries

    4. If not now, when?

    5. Just do it (you can analyze later)

  • Discounts for Fifty-Five +

    Golden Griddle Restaurant - 10% discount (excluding alcohol)
    Shoppers Drug Mart - 20% discount on Thursdays
    Zellers - 20% discount first Monday of month
    Thrifty Rental - 5% off time and mileage
    Best Western - 10% off room rates
    Sandman Hotels - 25% off room rates
    Howard Johnson Hotels - 10% off room rates

  • Fifty-Five is …

    fabulous, fanciful, fancy-free, fantastic, far-out, fashionable, fearless, feisty, fiery, fine, flamboyant, flashy, flattering, flirtatious, folksy, forthright, fortunate, foxy, frank, free, fresh, friendly, frivolous, fulsome, fun, funky, funny

A Bird’s-Eye View

#32 – Climb a tree 

This might seem like an odd entry for a nearly 56-year old, but you have to understand where I’m coming from. As a child, I grew up in the woods. There was a pine forest behind my house, on a long gradual slope overlooking a valley. The trees, tall and magnificent, were all part of the property, so I was free to roam to my heart’s content.

I was happiest there, amid the swaying pines, the wind, the birds swooping back and forth, squirrels and chipmunks foraging in the underbrush. As a wee child, I played with the fairies and woodsfolk, having tea parties on old stumps, chatting with the animals and birds, and enjoying a world of my own making.

Then I learned to climb and discovered a whole new world. I spent hours nestled into the branches of one particular pine tree. There were four branches, perfectly aligned, that created a seat with a back rest. After school, I’d race through the house, grab my favourite book, an apple from the refrigerator and head down the hill to my tree. I’d sit there, munching and reading, until my mother called me in for dinner.

So when I was making my Fun List, climbing a tree was an easy choice.

However, as I discovered last weekend, climbing isn’t as easy at this point in my life!

My body still remembers how, but my muscles don’t have the same strength or elasticity. I did persevere (after trying several trees and getting nowhere) …

First attempt

… and finally found an easy one with a multitude of low, wide branches.

Look way up!

Then I found my dream tree – a pine, with branches that reached out to me and invited me in.

Come on up!

It all came back to me. I remembered the scent of the sap, the smooth ruffled edge of the bark as I wrapped my hands around the branches, the sensation of swaying in the wind, the sound of the air moving through the branches.

Free as a bird!

Who says you can’t go home again???

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Julie Wise is …

    a writer, author (Dream BIGGER: Reclaiming a Life of Joy and Ease), life/relationship coach and an intuitive healer by day. By night, she dances flamenco, thrives on chocolate and good red wine (shiraz will do!) She secretly plots to change the world, one dream at a time.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

